Berlin International Film Festival

The public programme of the Berlin International Film Festival shows about 400 films per year, mostly international or European premieres. Films of every genre, length and format find their place in the various sections: great international cinema in the Competition, independent and art house in Panorama, films for young audiences in Generation, new discoveries and promising talents from the German film scene in Perspektive Deutsches Kino, avant garde, experimental and unfamiliar cinematography in the Forumand Forum Expanded, and an exploration of cinematic possibilities in Berlinale Shorts.

Eighteen films are vying in this year’s Competition for the Golden and the Silver Bears. The winners will be announced at the Berlinale Palast on February 18.
Director and screenwriter Paul Verhoeven will serve as Jury President (see press release from December 9, 2016). The other members of the International Jury are producer Dora Bouchoucha Fourati (Tunisia), artist Olafur Eliasson (Iceland), actress Maggie Gyllenhaal (USA), actress Julia Jentsch (Germany), actor and director Diego Luna (Mexico), and director and screenwriter Wang Quan’an (People’s Republic of China).

More information: