Venezia 73: Winner is Lav Diaz for “The Woman Who Left”

VENICE 2016: The majority of the prizewinners are actors and directors from across the pond, who divided the jury chaired by Sam Mendes.
Here is the complete list of winners at the 73rd Venice Film Festival:

Golden Lion
The Woman Who Left – Lav Diaz

Grand Jury Prize
Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford

Silver Lion for Best Director
Amat Escalante – The Untamed, Andrei Konchalovsky – Paradise

Special Jury Prize
The Bad Batch – Ana Lily Amirpour

Volpi Cup for Best Actor
Óscar Martínez – The Distinguished Citizen

olpi Cup for Best Actress
Emma Stone – La La Land

Marcello Mastroianni Prize for Best New Actor/Actress
Paula Beer – Frantz

Award for Best Screenplay
Noah Oppenheim – Jackie

Lion of the Future – Laurentiis Prize for a First Film
The Last of Us – Ala Eddine Slim


Best Film
Liberami  – Federica Di Giacomo

Best Director
Fien Troch – Home

Special Jury Prize
Big Big World  – Reha Erdem

Best Actress
Ruth Díaz – The Fury of a Patient Man

Best Actor
Nuno Lopes – Saint George

Best Screenplay
Wang Bing – Bitter Money

Best Short Film
La voz perdida – Marcelo Martinessi

Venice Classics

Best Restored Film
Break Up – L’uomo dei cinque palloni – Marco Ferreri

Best Documentary on Cinema
The Graduation  – Claire Simon