European titles submitted for the Oscars race

The submission period for the newly retitled Best International Feature Film category (formerly known as Best Foreign-language Film) at the 92nd Academy Awards is officially open, and Cineuropa is listing the titles that are being picked by each European country. As a rule, submitted films must have been released theatrically in their respective countries between 1 October 2018 and 30 September 2019.

Once the submission period is over, nine finalists will be selected from the total number of submissions (usually by the end of December), before the Academy whittles that number down to five, announcing the nominees in January 2020. The 92nd Oscars ceremony will be held on 9 February 2020.

 Here is the list of films submitted so far:

European countries

Belgium: Our Mothers, César Díaz (Belgium/France/Guatemala)

Croatia: Mali, Antonio Nuić (Croatia)

Estonia: Truth and Justice, Tanel Toom (Estonia)

Finland: Stupid Young Heart, Selma Vilhunen (Finland/Netherlands/Sweden)

Georgia: Shindisi, Dito Tsintsadze (Georgia)

Germany: System Crasher, Nora Fingscheidt (Germany)

Hungary: Those Who Remained, Barnabás Tóth (Hungary)

Netherlands: Instinct, Halina Reijn (Netherlands)

North Macedonia: Honeyland, Tamara Kotevska, Ljubomir Stefanov (North Macedonia)

Norway: Out Stealing Horses, Hans Petter Moland (Norway/Sweden/Denmark)

Romania: The Whistlers, Corneliu Porumboiu (Romania/France/Germany)

Spain: Pain & Glory, Pedro Almodóvar (Spain)

Sweden: And Then We Danced, Levan Akin (Sweden/Georgia/France)

Switzerland: Wolkenbruch’s Wondrous Journey Into The Arms Of A Shiksa, Michael Steiner (Switzerland/Germany)

Ukraine: Homeward, Nariman Aliev (Ukraine)

Non-European countries, with European production

Algeria: Papicha, Mounia Meddour (France/Algeria/Belgium)

Brazil: The Invisible Life Of Eurídice Gusmão, Karim Aïnouz (Brazil/Germany)

Colombia: Monos, Alejandro Landes (Colombia/Netherlands/Argentina/Germany/Denmark/Sweden/Uruguay/Switzerland)

Morocco: Adam, Maryam Touzani (Morocco/France/Belgium/Qatar)

Palestine: It Must Be Heaven, Elia Suleiman (France/Germany/Canada/Turkey/Qatar)

Tunisia: Dear Son, Mohamed Ben Attia (Tunisia/Belgium/France)

(cit. from Cineuropa)